Spring Magic…Coming Back to Life

As the brisk, fresh air swept over my bare shoulders and arms I closed my eyes and sighed “Spring, oh thank you for inviting me to come back to life every year.” Lush greenery, pink and white blossoms, and tiny purple flowers spring up seemingly overnight. I walked outside my front door yesterday and there was my invitation. If these leafless trees with limbs missing from the ice storm and bare dirt under my feet can spring back to life overnight, so could I.

Winter is not just a season for me, it is a state of being. I try my best to appreciate all seasons, but Winter is difficult. When my loved ones have passed on, it has always been in Winter. I do not prefer cold weather or cold people. I do not prefer having to wear clothes, much less lots of layers just to survive. During Winter, the somber landscape induces a melancholy of my spirit.

goodtobealive

So when Spring comes bursting forth, my heart, my mind, my spirit, my body feel enlivened with a magic that reminds me “Winter is just a season to endure, it always ends.” While Winter is all about endurance in my experience, Spring is about awakening with joy. How it delights me that my children and I can spend not a cent and have a magical day just running gleefully around our property, my oldest son picking plants he finds interesting and pretending he is making some sort of magical soup, my youngest finding sticks he makes into spears and running into the woods as if he is going hunting. My shaman and my warrior. I have known this from their births. I am in awe that my body produced these beings. They both came in the Spring. Life comes in Spring. Perhaps that is why I savor Spring fever so deeply.

spring-fever_v211

I remember spending so much time in the Spring forest as a child. I first felt God there and I marvel at the divinity God has instilled in all of creation. My heart aches for the children who grow up in concrete jungles. When I was a girl and I was sad or uncertain, I would go into the woods and sit next to the largest, oldest tree I could find and pray. I still do this. To all of the people who feel alone or hopeless, I say “go, let an old tree hold you and listen with your heart, think of all this tree has endured over the past hundreds of years, can you not stand and endure until this Winter of the soul until it passes?”

IMGA0574 IMGA0571

The deadness and harshness of Winter is giving way to the magical life of Spring. Whatever has been dead or dormant in you, Spring is your invitation to let the ice melt off and the little purple flowers grow again. All it takes is getting outside, taking off your shoes, feeling the Earth beneath your feet, the flowers ticking your toes, and feeling the delicious air wrap around your shoulders like a long-lost lover. Listen…the birds are chirping. Their wings have brought them back home. Let’s wing it together as we welcome this new season and awaken. How do you celebrate Spring? What does Spring mean to you?

Leave a Reply

